The HyperTexts

The Best Poetry Magazines and Literary Journals for Submissions (if you want "Recognition")

Please keep in mind that this list is, by definition, subjective, since "the best" is a matter of opinion. Also, by "best ... for submissions if you want 'recognition'" I mean just that. I am not saying that these journals are "better" than other journals, only that being published by them may be better from a "recognition" standpoint than being published by less-well-known outlets. Circulation figures are approximate, for reference only, and are likely to be out of date. I have bolded the submission info pages for publishers who accept online and/or email submissions. I have ranked the publications primarily by circulation (if over 10,000 subscribers), then by general reputation, prestige and major awards (such as Pushcart Prize winners, poems in the Best American Poetry series, etc.).

Happy hunting! But please be realistic, because if you have not yet mastered English grammar and punctuation, you have little chance of being published by the magazines and journals below.

compiled by Michael R. Burch

The Top Ten Markets for Poetry, by Circulation

The New Yorker debuted in the 1920s and has nearly a million subscribers. Online submissions: http://www.newyorker.com/contact/contactus

The Atlantic Monthly was founded in 1857 and has a circulation of 500,000. Submissions by email: http://www.theatlantic.com/faq/

Harper's Magazine was launched in 1850. Circulation 200,000. Submissions by email: http://harpers.org/harpers/submissions

The New Republic was founded in 1914 and has nearly 100,000 subscribers: http://www.tnr.com/

Granta has been publishing since 1889 and has almost 50,000 subscribers: http://www.granta.com/Magazine/Submissions-policy
Boston Review was founded in 1975 and has a circulation of 40,000. Online submissions: http://bostonreview.net/about/writers_guidelines/

Litteral Latte was founded in 1994 and has had a circulation as high as 30,000: http://www.literal-latte.com/submissions/
Poetry premiered in 1912 and has around 15,000 subscribers. Online submissions: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poetrymagazine/submissions.html

The Paris Review began in 1953 and has around 15,000 subscribers: http://www.theparisreview.org/about/submissions

American Poetry Review was founded in 1976 and has around 15,000 subscribers: http://www.aprweb.org/about

Threepenny Review launched in 1980 and has around 10,000 subscribers. Online submissions: http://www.threepennyreview.com/submissions.html

The Top Markets for Unknown, Under-Known and Emerging Poets

Here, we are trying to identify literary journals that have a reputation for giving "unknown," "under-known" and "emerging" poets a fair shot. It can be hard to identify journals in this category, so if you know of any, please let us know!

Rattle www.rattle.com
The Lyric http://www.thelyricmagazine.com/submissions_all.html
The HyperTexts http://www.thehypertexts.com/

Top Markets for Traditional, Formal, Metrical and Rhyming Poetry

While most contemporary poetry journals specialize in free verse, the most popular genre with readers remains traditional poetry. William Harmon in his introduction to The Classic Hundred All-Time Favorite Poems noted that only one of the hundred most popular poems is genuinely free verse. The other ninety-nine most popular poems all have fairly regular meter and/or rhyme. And the same is true of virtually all popular song lyrics: whether traditional, classic, folk, pop, rock, country, rockabilly, blues, jazz, reggae, rap, hip-hop, acid, headbanger, punk or grunge. Human audiences obviously prefer rhythm and rhyme. Here, then, are poetry journals that favor (or at least don't discriminate against) meter and rhyme.

Angle www.anglepoetry.co.uk

Better Than Starbucks http://anthonywatkins.wixsite.com/betterthanstarbucks

The Eclectic Muse http://www.thehypertexts.com/Essays%20Articles%20Reviews%20Prose/The%20Eclectic%20Muse.htm

Evansville Review
 http://english.evansville.edu/EvansvilleReview.htm

The Formalist
(Howard Nemerov Sonnet Contest) http://theformalist.evansville.edu/formalist.htm

Hudson Review
 http://www.hudsonreview.com/

The HyperTexts
 http://www.thehypertexts.com/

Light Quarterly
http://www.lightquarterly.com/

The Lyric
, founded in 1921, is the oldest American journal dedicated to traditional poetry: http://www.thelyricmagazine.com/submissions_all.html

Measure
 http://www.measurepress.com/measure/index.php/submissions/

Poetry
http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poetrymagazine/submissions.html

The Raintown Review
 http://www.theraintownreview.com/

The Road Not Taken
http://journalformalpoetry.com/

The Rotary Dial
http://therotarydial.ca/

Sewanee Review
http://www.sewanee.edu/sewanee_review

Trinacria
http://trinacriapoetry.com/

Other Top Markets for Poetry, by Venerability

North American Review, founded in 1815 by Nathan Hale, among others, is America's oldest literary magazine: https://northamericanreview.submittable.com/submit

Yale Review
traces its history back to 1819, making it America's oldest literary magazine in continuous publication: http://www.yale.edu/yalereview/guidelines.html

Southwest Review
debuted in 1915 and is currently published by SMU: http://smu.edu/southwestreview/GuidelinesforSubmissions.asp

The Lyric
, founded in 1921, is the oldest American journal dedicated to traditional poetry: http://www.thelyricmagazine.com/submissions_all.html

Virginia Quarterly Review
has been published by the University of Virginia since 1925. Online submissions: http://www.vqronline.org/submission/

Prairie Schooner
has been publishing since 1927: http://prairieschooner.unl.edu/submission/guidelines.html

Southern Review
has been published by Louisiana State University since 1935: http://thesouthernreview.org/submissions/

Kenyon Review
debuted in 1939 and is highly regarded. Online submissions: http://kenyonreview.org/krsubmit/submissions/

Antioch Review
has been published by Antioch College since 1941: http://antiochcollege.org/antioch_review/guidelines.html

Chicago Review
was founded in 1946: http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/review/submit.shtml

Hudson Review
was founded in 1947 and has won many awards: http://hudsonreview.com/new/about/10/writers-guidelines

Black Warrior Review
was founded in 1947. Online submissions: http://bwr.ua.edu/?page_id=267

Georgia Review
, published by the University of Georgia, started in 1947: http://www.uga.edu/garev/guidelines.html

Epoch
has been published by Cornell University since 1947: http://www.arts.cornell.edu/english/publications/epoch/#submissions

Shenandoah
began publishing in 1949: http://www.wlu.edu/x32921.xml

Triquarterly
debuted in 1958. Online submissions: http://triquarterly.org/submissions

Massachusetts Review
debuted in 1959. Online submissions: http://www.massreview.org/07submit.htm

Crazy Horse
has been publishing since 1960. Online submissions: http://www.crazyhorsejournal.org/page.php?id=113

The Iowa Review
has been published by the University of Iowa since 1970: Online submissions: https://iowareview.submittable.com/submit

Iowa Review
premiered in 1970: http://iowareview.uiowa.edu/node/54

Oxford Review
was founded in the 1970s: http://www.euppublishing.com/page/olr/submissions

Ploughshares
was founded in 1971 and has garnered many honors. Online submissions: http://www.pshares.org/submit/

AGNI
has been published by Boston University since 1972. Online submissions: http://www.bu.edu/dbin/agni/

Callaloo
debuted in 1976. Online submissions: http://callaloo.tamu.edu/guidelines.html

New England Review
launched in 1978. Online submission: http://www.nereview.com/guidelines.html

Missouri Review
debuted in 1978. Online submissions: http://www.missourireview.org/main_info/e-submissions.php

Latecomers and Upstart Crows

Boulevard has been publishing since 1985. Online submissions:http://www.boulevardmagazine.org/projects.html

New American Writing
launched in 1986: http://www.newamericanwriting.com/submit.htm

Harvard Review
began in 1986. Online submissions:http://hcl.harvard.edu/harvardreview/Information/submissions.html

Gettysburg Review
was founded in 1988: http://www.gettysburgreview.com/submissions/guidelines/

Connecticut Review
:http://www.easternct.edu/ctreview/submissions/

Tin House
debuted in 1998 and soon became a leading literary magazine by reputation: http://www.tinhouse.com

Boulevard
has been published by St. Louis University since 1985. Online submissions: http://www.boulevardmagazine.org/projects.html

Alaska Quarterly Review
has been published by the University of Alaska (Anchorage) since 1980: http://www.uaa.alaska.edu/aqr/guidelines.cfm

Mcsweeney's Quarterly Concern
was founded in 1988. Online submissions: http://www.mcsweeneys.net/submit/print.html

Fence
hit the post in 1998. Online submissions: http://fence.fenceportal.org/submit.html

American Scholar
started in 1999. Online submissions: http://www.theamericanscholar.org/contact-us/

Subtropics
launched in 2006 and was soon making waves: http://www.english.ufl.edu/subtropics/submit.html

Witness
debuted in 1987. Online submissions: http://witness.blackmountaininstitute.org/submit/index.htm

Volt
started electrifying readers in 1991. Online submissions: http://www.voltpoetry.com/html/submit.html

Xconnect
has been publishing since 1995. Email for guidelines: http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/xconnect/misc/g/email.html

Bomb
exploded on the poetry scene in 1981: http://bombsite.com/issues/0/articles/3406

Barrow Street
launched in 1998: http://www.barrowstreet.org/submit.html

Five Points,
published by Georgia State University, was founded in 1996. Online submissions:http://www.fivepoints.gsu.edu/submissions/

Cincinnati Review
launched in 2003: http://www.cincinnatireview.com/#/submissions/guidelines

Other Markets for Traditional, Formal, Metrical and Rhyming Poetry

Adanna Literary Journal http://adannajournal.blogspot.com/
Alabama Literary Review http://spectrum.troy.edu/alr/index.htm
American Arts Quarterly http://nccsc.net/american_arts_quartlerly
Anon  http://www.anonpoetry.co.uk/
Anti- http://anti-poetry.com/ 
Antiphon http://www.antiphon.org.uk/
Atavic Poetry http://atavicpoetry.com/
The Barefoot Muse http://www.barefootmuse.com/
Blast Furnace http://www.blastfurnacepress.com/
Blue Unicorn http://www.blueunicorn.org/
Boston Poetry http://www.bostonpoetry.com
Canto http://www.cantopoetry.co.uk/
Cartys Poetry Journal http://www.cartyspoetryjournal.com/Submissions.htm
Cave Wall http://www.cavewallpress.com/
The Chimaera http://www.the-chimaera.com/
Columbia College Literary Review https://sites.google.com/a/cougars.ccis.edu/ccliteraryreview/
The Comstock Review http://www.comstockreview.org/
Contemporary Rhyme http://www.contemporaryrhyme.com/
Crab Orchard Review http://craborchardreview.siu.edu/
Crannog http://www.crannogmagazine.com/
Dappled Things http://dappledthings.org/
Dark Horse http://www.thedarkhorsemagazine.com/
Deronda Review http://www.pointandcircumference.com/deronda/main.htm
Donít Just Sit There http://djstpoetry.org/
Envoi http://www.cinnamonpress.com/envoi/
Euphony http://euphonyjournal.com/
Expansive Poetry Online http://www.expansivepoetryonline.com/
First Things http://www.firstthings.com/
The Flea http://www.the-flea.com/
Fringe http://www.fringemagazine.org/
Frostwriting http://www.frostwriting.com/
FutureCycle http://www.futurecycle.org/
Garbanzo http://www.garbanzo.us/
Goblin Fruit http://www.goblinfruit.net/2013/fall/guidelines/
Harp-Strings mailto:verdure@tampabay.rr.com
Iambs & Trochees http://www.iambsandtrochees.com/
Image http://www.imagejournal.org/
Imitation & Allusion http://imitationandallusion.com/
Innisfree Poetry Journal http://www.authorme.com/innisfree.htm
Interpreters House http://www.interpretershouse.org.uk/
Iron Horse Literary Review http://www.ironhorsereview.com/
The Ivy Review http://sites.google.com/site/ccivyreview/
KUDU http://www.kudupoetry.org/
Kestrel http://www.fairmontstate.edu/publications/kestrel/submissions
Kin http://wearekin.org/
Knockout http://www.knockoutlit.org/
Lavender Review http://lavrev.net/
Lighten Up Online http://www.lightenup-online.co.uk/
Linebreak http://linebreak.org/
Literary Bohemian http://www.literarybohemian.com/
Literary Hatchet http://www.hatchetonline.com/HatchetOnline/LiteraryHatchet/
Loch Raven Review http://www.lochravenreview.net/
London Magazine http://www.thelondonmagazine.net/
Lucid Rhythms http://www.lucidrhythms.com/
Mezzo Cammin http://www.mezzocammin.com/
M÷BIUS http://www.mobiuspoetry.com/
NEBO http://www.atu.edu/english/Nebo.shtml
National Poetry Review http://www.nationalpoetryreview.com/
The Nervous Breakdown http://www.thenervousbreakdown.com/
New Criterion http://www.newcriterion.com/
New Trad Journal http://newtradjournal.org/
New Verse News http://newversenews.blogspot.com/
New Walk http://newwalkmagazine.wordpress.com/
North American Review http://www.webdelsol.com/NorthAmReview/NAR/Home.html
O Sweet Flowery Roses   http://osfrjournal.blogspot.com/
Off the Coast http://www.off-the-coast.com/
Orbis http://www.kudoswritingcompetitions.com/
Our Pipe Dreams http://www.ourpipedreams.com/
PN Review http://www.pnreview.co.uk/ 
Pivot http://www.n2hos.com/acm/EPMBOOKSTOREMAIN.HTML
Poem Tree http://www.poemtree.com/
Poemeleon http://www.poemeleon.org/
Poetry Porch http://www.poetryporch.com/
Poetry Proper http://poetryproper.blogspot.com/
Pulse http://www.heartsoundspressliterary.com/Pulse_Online_Literary_Journal/Welcome.html
Rattle http://www.rattle.com/submissions.htm   
Raven Chronicles http://ravenchronicles.org/
The Recusant http://www.therecusant.moonfruit.com/
Redheaded Stepchild http://redheadedmag.com/poetry/
Rhythm http://rhythmpoetrymagazine.english.dal.ca/submissions.html
River Styx http://www.riverstyx.org/
Riverrun http://www.uccs.edu/english/student-activities/riverrun.html
Rondeau Poetry Review http://rondeaupoetryreview.webs.com/
Rondeau Roundup http://therondeauroundup.blogspot.com/
Ruminate http://www.ruminatemagazine.com/
SP Quill http://www.shadowpoetry.com/magazine/spquill.html
The Same http://www.thesamepress.com/
Scarlet Literary Magazine http://scarletzine.wordpress.com/
Sewanee Theological Review http://www.sewanee.edu/Theology/str/strhome.html
ShatterColors http://www.shattercolors.com/index.htm
Shit Creek Review http://www.shitcreekreview.com/
Shot Glass  http://www.musepiepress.com/shotglass/index.html
Slant http://uca.edu/english/slant-a-journal-of-poetry/
Sliptongue  http://www.sliptongue.com/
Smartish Pace http://www.smartishpace.com/home/index.html
Snakeskin http://www.simmers1.webspace.virginmedia.com/
Sonnetto Poesia https://sites.google.com/site/sonnettopoesia/home
String Poet http://www.stringpoet.com/ 
Strong Verse http://www.strongverse.org/
Think Journal http://www.thinkjournalreview.com/Think_Journal/Think.html 
Third Wednesday   http://thirdwednesday.org/
Umbrella http://www.umbrellajournal.com/
Unsplendid http://www.unsplendid.com/ 
Valparaiso Poetry Review http://www.valpo.edu/vpr/
Verse Wisconsin http://www.versewisconsin.org/   
The Victorian Violet http://victorianvioletpress.com/home
Vineyards http://vineyardspoetry.com/
Vocabula Review http://www.vocabula.com/
14 by 14 http://www.14by14.com/
32 Poems http://www.32poems.com/

The HyperTexts